Opinion

Comment and analysis that takes a view

Latest Update

Blown away by the competition
26 May, 2021
Jeremy Gordon asks whether the nuclear industry could improve...
> read more

Opinion

Energy demand rising a bit
Thursday, April 29, 2021 by The vision of blockchain as the route to a distributed low energy utopia has not delivered, argues Jeremy Gordon. Instead it points to an always-on, high-energy-demand future, favouring...

Towards more reasoned debate about nuclear and renewables
Thursday, April 29, 2021 by Letter to the editor from Andy Stirling, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, UK

Pass the mic
Tuesday, March 30, 2021 by Japanese leaders insist that nuclear must have a role in the country’s energy future, but their declarations of support can’t do much to convince key communities. By Jeremy Gordon

Propelling decarbonisation
Thursday, February 18, 2021 by Proposals for nuclear powered container ships have returned after a decade in the doldrums. By Jeremy Gordon

Macron steers nuclear policy
Wednesday, February 03, 2021 by France remains committed to reducing its nuclear share, but for President Emmanuel Macron the strategic importance of the technology is reaching a new high, writes Jeremy Gordon

Bringing radiation down to earth
Tuesday, January 19, 2021 by If I had a dollar for every time I had heard ‘We need to educate the public’ I would have more than enough to do something about it, says Jeremy Gordon

Nuclear: rivalling renewables?
Thursday, December 10, 2020 by A recent study suggests that nuclear might ‘crowd out’ renewables and may not, in fact, lead to decarbonisation. Jeremy Gordon looks deeper

Critical moment for China
Thursday, November 05, 2020 by China has been building the world’s biggest nuclear power plants, but as Jeremy Gordon asks, is it storing up the world’s biggest public relations problems to go with them?

How tragedy plays out
Thursday, October 01, 2020 by Jeremy Gordon looks at the recent disaster in Beirut and the reaction of the fertiliser industry to the explosion. How does this compare with response to a nuclear accident?

Real resilience
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 by Is the nuclear industry resilient? The true test will be seeing whether they build better business plans, not simply more resilient power plants, says Jeremy Gordon

Rethinking nuclear
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 by Jeremy Gordon explains how more data on nuclear energy, and personal experiences, can help people change their views

Fuelling positivity
Wednesday, July 01, 2020 by The coronavirus pandemic has hit most markets hard, but uranium is bucking the trend, Jeremy Gordon explains

A question of reinvention
Thursday, June 18, 2020 by Nuclear energy needs to reinvent itself so that its benefits, risks and deeds are understood in terms of the values guiding us through this pandemic, says Jeremy Gordon.

Double espresso?
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 by Jeremy Gordon considers the legacies we have inherited from previous generations, both radioactive and otherwise.

Why nuclear energy needs a reinvention
Thursday, April 23, 2020 by Nuclear energy needs to reinvent itself so that its benefits, risks and deeds are understood in terms of the values guiding us through this pandemic, says Jeremy Gordon

Use it or lose it
Wednesday, April 08, 2020 by Jeremy Gordon looks at the closure of Fessenheim, France’s oldest nuclear plant. Does it mark the beginning of the end of nuclear power in the country?

Keep on keeping on
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by Even if climate targets seem insurmountable, every single reactor means less demand for fossil fuel extraction and a step toward reducing carbon emissions, says Jeremy Gordon.

Just to sell soap
Thursday, February 27, 2020 by UK-based consumer soap brand Lush always carries one product line from which all proceeds after tax go to a selected charity. Jeremy Gordon looks at how the brand has been...

What’s in a name?
Thursday, February 06, 2020 by Jeremy Gordon, suggests why the nuclear industry should pay more attention to naming its reactor designs.

Opinion Archive



Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.
cachename:Opinioncachekey:rd-1665407042_1857678299_rd-488908060_1460672566_rd-125224354_1733269576_ap1460672566_1857678299_-1043351774