EC supports accession decommission

12 October 2004

The European Commission (EC) has voiced support for European Union (EU) financial commitments of over €1 billion to accession states Lithuania and Slovakia.

The states agreed to decommission those nuclear facilities considered less safe by the EU during negotiations to enter the bloc. Lithuania must close Ignalina's unit 1 this year and unit 2 before 2010 while Slovakia must close Bohunice V1 by 2007 and Bohunice V2 by 2009. The EU, on the other hand, must provide €815 million for Lithuania and €237 million for Slovakia to pay for not only the technical work but also energy security measures and social concerns.

The money is for the period 2007-2013: earlier commitments up to 2006 have already been fulfilled.

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.