Decree marks creation of Rosatom

11 May 2004

Exports and imports of nuclear materials, technology and services will continue to be managed by existing state companies such as the nuclear fuel manufacturer TVEL and Techsnabexport (Tenex), the commercial foreign trade arm of the former Minatom but will now come under Rosatom’s authority.

Former Minatom minister Alexander Rumyantsev heads Rosatom with four deputies, three of whom were appointed on 12 April: Igor Borovkov, Evald Antipenko, and Boris Yurlov. Igor Borovkov was previously first deputy minister of atomic energy responsible for the nuclear weapons complex. Former deputy minister of atomic energy Evald Antipenko was responsible for financial, investment and foreign economic policy within the industry. Boris Dmitrievich Yurlov has joined Rosatom from Gazprom, where he was deputy chairman of the board responsible for financial issues.

As well as the four deputy heads, Rosatom will have up to 16 departments to cover its main areas of activity. The number of employees within the central organisation should not exceed 500 (excluding security and administration). Rosatom will continue to operate from the former Minatom headquarters.

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.