Unit 6 at China national Nuclear corporation’s Tianwan NPP in Jiangsu province was connected to the grid on 11 May, China Nuclear Energy Association announced, noting that this marked the unit's entry into the grid-connected commissioning phase. This is a key step towards completion of the Tianwan Phase III Project comprising units 5 and 6, both Chinese ACPR1000 reactors. First safety-related concrete was poured for unit 5 in 2015, with for unit 6 in 2016. Tianwan 5 began commercial operation in September 2020. Hot functional testing of Tianwan 6 began in November and was completed in late December.

The first four units at the site (Phases I and II), which began commercial operation between June 2007 and December 2018, are Gidropress VVER units supplied by Russia, as will be the seventh and eighth (Phase IV), for which a general contract was signed in March 2020.The Tianwan plant is owned and operated by Jiangsu Nuclear Power Corporation, a joint venture between CNNC (50%), China Power Investment Corporation (30%) and Jiangsu Guoxin Group (20%).