Russia suspended from OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

14 April 2022

Russian membership of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) was suspended on 11 April following a decision by the OECD’s ruling body. The Russian Federation has been informed accordingly and the suspension will enter into force on 11 May.

Russia became a member of the NEA in 2013, a specialised agency within the framework of the OECD which assists its members in maintaining and developing the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally sound and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

Russia has the fifth largest civilian nuclear programme in the world after the United States, France, China and Japan. It is currently the world’s leading exporter of civilian nuclear energy plants.

Photo: OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (credit: Nuclear Energy Agency)

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.