On 18 November 2010, Poland became the 29th member country of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA).

Minister Hanna Trojanowska, Government Commissioner for Nuclear Energy and Under-Secretary of State at the Polish Ministry of Economy, added that “NEA membership will help Poland realise the nuclear power programme which is the biggest industrial project in Poland since the Second World War.”

NEA Director-General Luis Echávarri said that the accession was particularly timely as the country develops its nuclear power programme.

In 2009, Poland’s Council of Ministers adopted the “Energy Policy of Poland until 2030” which maps out a long-term plan to meet rising energy demands by diversifying power generation sources and including nuclear power in its national energy strategy. As a result, the country is currently developing a nuclear energy programme and plans to build two nuclear power reactors, the first of which is scheduled for completion in 2022.

Poland is party to the main treaties and agreements on the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and on co-operation with regard to the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.