William C. Ostendorff has been sworn in to a five-year term as commissioner of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

President Barack Obama called on Ostendorff in 2010 to complete the remaining term (15 months) of the departing Dale Klein. He has now been given a full term position, ending 30 June 2016.

“I welcome Bill Ostendorff back on the Commission at a time when the NRC faces many crucial issues, including the aftermath of the Fukushima event in Japan,” said Chairman Gregory B. Jaczko. “It is important in these times for the Commission to be fully staffed, and Commissioner Ostendorff brings a wealth of experience and expertise to our work.”

Ostendorff has a distinguished career as an engineer, legal counsel, policy advisor, and naval officer. Before joining the NRC, Ostendorff served as the Director of the Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy and as Director of the Board on Global Science and Technology at the National Academies.

Ostendorff joins the following four commissioners NRC chairman Gregory B. Jaczko (with term running to June 2013), Kristine L. Svinicki (term ending June 2012), George Apostolakis (term running until June 2014) and William D. Magwood, IV (term ending June 2015).

Related Articles
US joins German fusion project
ITER remains on track