Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited has agreed terms for compensation for villagers displaced by the company’s planned 6-unit Jaitapur nuclear power plant in the village of Madban, Taluka Rajapur, District Ratnagiri, Maharashtra. The project is expected to use six 1650MW Areva EPRs. Land measuring approximately 938 hectares has been acquired from four villages for setting up the above project, as well as a residential complex.

The state of Maharashtra and NPCIL, a government of India company, have signed an agreement for the rehabilitation package. Among other benefits for individuals, the deal will provide INR 20 million ($450,000) per displaced village.

Related Articles
Step forward for laser enrichment