WANO elects new executives

28 July 2010

Following a meeting in Murmansk, Russia, the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) has announced changes to its Governing Board. A new president He Yu of China has been elected, while Laurent Stricker of EDF will stay on to serve another term as chairman of the organisation..

Laurent Stricker of France (EDF) was unanimously re-elected to serve a second term as chairman of WANO. This term will expire in January 2013.

He Yu of China has been elected interim President of the international safety organisation. He is chairman of the Board of the China Guangdong Nuclear Power Holding Co., Ltd. (CGNPC), also received unanimous support to succeed former CGNPC Chairman Qian Zhimin as WANO President on an interim basis. He will serve until October of 2011, when a successor will be elected during WANO’s 11th Biennial General Meeting in Shenzhen, China

Also elected to the WANO Governing Board were: James O. Ellis, president and chief executive officer of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO); Sergey A. Obozov, director general of Rosenergoatom; Henri Proglio, chairman and CEO of EDF and Masataka Shimizu, President of Tokyo Electric Power Company and incoming Chairman of the Federation of Electric Power Companies.

Related Articles
FirstEnergy studies mPower reactor
B&W’s baby
Small is not new
B&W unveils its new modular reactor
Bechtel joins B&W 125MW mPower project
SMRs on the radar in the USA
Four-year SMR fuel cycle
TVA plans six mPower units at Clinch River
GSE selected for mPower simulator

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.