Chinese company contracted to work on Tianwan 7&8

18 February 2021

JEPC3, a subsidiary of China's China Energy Engineering (CEE), has won a tender for the construction of the non-nuclear islands for units 7 & 8 of the Tianwan NPP in China’s Jiangsu Province, Strana Rosatom reported on 16 February. The two units, with VVER-1200 reactors, are being built by Rosatom, which said work on unit 7 should begin in May 2021, and on unit 8 in March 2022.

The Tianwan plant comprises four VVER-1000 units. Units 1&2 were put into warranty operation in 2007, and units 3&4 began commercial operation in 2018. Tianwan 5&6 are Chinese-designed 1080MWe ACPR1000 pressurised water reactors. In June 2018, during Russian President Vladimir Putin's state visit to China, an intergovernmental protocol and a framework contract was signed for the construction of units 7&8 followed by a general contract for their construction in March 2019.

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.