The UK government has confirmed the full list of ministerial responsibilities within its newly created Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS). The list was included in a statement on 1 August by department Secretary of State Greg Clark. The creation of BEIS followed the scrapping of the Department of Energy and Climate Change, which was announced on 14 July after Theresa May's appointment as Prime Minister. The change added energy-related matters to the remit of BEIS predecessor, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

The new portfolios reflect the key priorities for the department to develop a comprehensive industrial strategy; continuing to ensure the UK remains at the cutting-edge of science, research and innovation; tackling climate change; and ensuring affordable, clean and secure energy supply for the UK, according to the statement.

Nick Hurd is Minister of State for Climate Change and Industry; Jo Johnson is Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation; Baroness Neville-Rolfe is Minister of State for Energy and Intellectual Property; Margot James is Minister for Small Business, Consumers, and Corporate Responsibility; and Jesse Norman is Minister for Industry and Energy.

The new department brings together responsibilities for industrial strategy, energy, business, consumers, employees, science, innovation, research, and climate change. It will be responsible for developing and delivering a comprehensive industrial strategy and leading the government's relationship with business; ensuring secure energy supplies that are reliable, affordable and clean; ensuring the UK remains at the leading edge of science, research and innovation; tackling climate change; promoting competitive markets and consumer interests.