The European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) and the Indian Government have signed a cooperation agreement in the field of fusion energy research. The European Union and India are already partners in the construction of the international fusion tokamak ITER. The agreement was signed at the EU-India Summit in New Delhi by the European Commissioner for External Relations and European Neighbourhood Policy Benita Ferrero-Waldner and Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman of the Indian Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

The Agreement will further promote and will give more visibility to the bilateral constructive cooperation. It is a complement to the joint activities already established in the multilateral framework of ITER to which both sides are fully committed.

Euratom and India will establish a fast track for the exchange of both information on research issues and scientists in research projects. India has already ongoing collaborations with several European national research centres on fusion. Indian scientists will now join the major fusion experiments of Euratom. India has a strong and consolidated expertise on plasma and superconductors. It has been operating its own two tomakak machines for years.