The US Department of Energy (DOE) has announced funding of more than $6.3m for 18 projects at 15 universities in 14 states. The funding aims to build up scientific infrastructure and upgrade university research reactors at to expand US scientific capabilities and train the next generation of nuclear energy scientists and engineers. This follows an earlier announcement of more than $56m to support nuclear technology development, early career faculty research activities, and student research at US universities and national laboratories.

Since 2009, DOE has awarded more than $84m for university nuclear energy infrastructure projects and upgrades. DOE’s Infrastructure Program is managed by the Nuclear Energy University Program with support from the Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF).

The universities that will receive the latest infrastructure awards are:

  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • University of Nevada, Reno
  • University of New Mexico
  • North Carolina State University
  • The Ohio State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • University of Utah
  • Washington State University
  • University of Wyoming