Russia signs contracts for units 7 and 8 at China’s Tianwan NPP

8 November 2018

The engineering division of Russian state nuclear corporation Rosatom, Atomstroyexport (JSC ASE IT) and China National Nuclear Corporation (CNNC) enterprises on 6 November signed  four executive contracts for the construction of new units at the Tianwan NPP (units 7 and 8) Jiangsu province. The ASE group of companies includes JSC IC ASE, JSC Atomstroyexport, JSC Atomenergoproekt and JSC Atomproekt. ASE accounts for more than 30% of the global market for NPP construction and has representative offices and operational offices in 15 countries. Almost 80% of the company's order book comprises projects abroad.

CNNC also signed executive contracts with Russia’s Afrikantov OKBM" (part of Rosatom) and other Rosatom enterprises for implementation of the project for construction of the Chinese demonstration fast neutron reactor CFR600. The contracts involve the supply of equipment and the provision of services, as well as the provision of a licence for the right to use software, and expertise documentation.

The preparation of the Tianwan contracts was carried out in accordance with the strategic package of agreements signed in June in Beijing, outlining the main directions of nuclear cooperation between Russia and China in the coming decades. Russia and China signed four agreements, including for the construction of two VVER-1200 reactors as units 7 and 8 of the Tianwan plant. In addition, two VVER-1200 units are to be constructed at the new Xudabao site in Liaoning province.

Meanwhile, unit 4 of the Tianwan plant, built with Russian assistsance, was connected to the electricity grid at the end of October. Tianwan Phase I - units 1 and 2 – based on a 1992 cooperation agreement between China and Russia – comprised two AES-91 VVER-1000 units designed by Gidropress and supplied by Russian state nuclear corporation Rosatom. First concrete was poured in October 1999, and the units were commissioned in 2007. Tianwan Phase II (units 3 and 4) are similar. First concrete for unit 3 was poured in December 2012 and for unit 4 in September 2013. Unit 3 achieved first criticality in September 2017 and was connected to the grid in December for commercial operation in February. Unit 4 achieved first criticality in September.

Tianwan Phase III (units 5 and 6) are 1080 MWe Chinese design ACPR1000 reactors. First concrete was poured for unit 5 in December 2015, and for unit 6 poured in September 2016 with commercial operation scheduled for the end of 2021.

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.