Unit 4 at China’s Yangjiang nuclear power plant in Guangdong province began operation on 15 March, after 168 hours of test operation, according to China General Nuclear Power Corp (CGN).

Six units are planned for the Yangjiang plant. Yangjiang 1 entered commercial operation in March 2014, and units 2 and 3 in June 2015 and January 2016, respectively. And all six reactors will be put into operation by 2019, CGN said.

The grid connection of Yangjiang's 4 brings CGN’s total number of reactors in operation to 20, with a combined installed capacity of more than 21.46GWe, said the company.