Ten Japanese reactors apply for restart

9 July 2013

Reactor operators have filed requests to restart 10 of Japan's 50 reactors with the Nuclear Regulation Authority (NRA).

The units covered are: Hokkaido Electric Power Company's Tomari 1&2; Kansai EPC's Ohi 3&4 and Takahama 3&4; Kyushu EPC's Sendai 1&2, and Ikata 3, operated by Shikoku EPC.

To date, Ohi 3&4, operated by Kansai EPC are the only reactors that have been allowed to resume operation in Japan following the March 2011 earthquake and tsunami that struck Tepco's Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant. The MHI-designed pressurized water reactors, which restarted last July, are set to continue operation until the next statutory outage, planned for September 2013.

Japanese utilities had been waiting for new regulations to come into force before submitting restart applications. The Act on the Regulation of Nuclear Source Material, Nuclear Fuel Material and Reactors was enacted on 8 July, according to NRA.

The new regulations include design basis safety standards, severe accident management measures and safety requirements relative to earthquakes and tsunamis.

They were developed after "Various investigation reports and studies on Fukushima underlined certain vulnerability and failures in Japan's existing nuclear safety systems, procedures and standards, including a lack of the back-fit system that applies revised standards to existing nuclear reactors," the NRA said in an overview of the draft standards published in February 2013.

Photo: Ohi 3&4, Japan

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.