Four reactor designs submitted for pre-licensing

10 July 2007

The UK government has confirmed that all four applications received by the regulators' Joint Programme Office for the opening phase of generic design assessment of new nuclear reactors have met eligibility criteria.

The designs from AECL, Areva, GE-Hitachi and Toshiba-Westinghouse are eligible for the first stage of the pre-licensing process which will be taken forward by the Joint Programme Office (JPO) comprising of the Office for Civil Nuclear Security (OCNS), the Nuclear Installations Inspectorate (NII) and the Environment Agency (EA).

If successful in phase one, which includes an assessment of the safety case for each reactor design, a design may be able to progress to phase two of the generic design assessment, where the designs will be assessed in more detail. Phase two is subject to the outcome of the nuclear consultation.

It is likely that the number of designs to be considered during phase two will be reduced from four to three due to resource constraints of the regulators.

Related Articles
US GNEP programme dead, DOE confirms

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.