Euratom strikes cooperation deal with Eastern Europe

7 January 2007

The European Commission struck practical cooperation agreements with the nuclear research institutions of Bulgaria, Lithuania and Slovakia, which will deepen their long-term cooperation regarding the development of nuclear fusion energy with the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom).

The deals cover the Institute of Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy (at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences) in Sofia; the Lithuanian Energy Institute in Kaunas; and the ComeniusUniversity in Bratislava, Slovakia. The agreements will see fusion research units established in each country, which will become signatories to the European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA), thereby promoting fusion cooperation, notably regarding the Iter project and via Euratom schemes training young scientists in fusion.

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.