Coalition to finish nuclear

24 April 2007

The newly elected coalition government of Finland comprising 20 ministers includes two members from the Green Party. The party, which is opposed to any additional nuclear developments in the country, will hold the positions of the minister of justice and the minister of labour. In addition, another Green Party member has been appointed to the post of special adviser to the prime minister on climate change.

A further eight members will come from the Centre Party including prime minister Matti Vanhanen together with the ministers for the environment, trade and industry, and finance. A further eight will come from the conservative National Coalition Party, and two from the Swedish People’s Party.

A spokesperson for the Green Party said that while existing projects such as the new EPR under construction at Olkiluoto will not be affected, as part of the coalition agreement the party remains free to vote against any new nuclear developments and would do so.

Related Articles
Floating nuclear power station underway
Sevmash floating plant contract
Floating reactors barge in

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.